Rangers Skip Train To Newark

The great thing about the NHL is you learn a new rule every night. People say that broadcasts need to explain the game to new fans. In actuality, all fans learn something just by watching the game. For instance, Rangers fans (and players and media and probably the Devils bench as well) learned Rule 46.15 exists tonight. You never know what you will learn tuning into a hockey game!

In all seriousness, Rule 46.15 does exist and while I didn’t know it, I want to know how the Rangers weren’t aware of it. But we’ll get to that in a little bit.

Earlier in the day, after Vigneault said there would be no other roster moves as the Rangers try to save every penny before the deadline, the Rangers recalled Brady Skjei. My first reaction was who has the flu now? Turns out it wasn’t the flu but a “lower body tweak” (those were the Rangers words, not mine) to Marc Staal. I don’t know what that is but it reportedly isn’t serious.

But what it meant was the Ranger defense tonight looked like this:

Keith Yandle – Dan Girardi
Brady Skjei – Kevin Klein
Dan Boyle – Dylan McIlrath

I know the Devils aren’t the flashiest team but I can’t say that line-up didn’t worry me.

The first period started off great with the Rangers controlling play and getting a number of chances on Schneider. Of course all that meant was the Devils managing to get the first goal less than five minutes into the game. I remember watching Dan Boyle continually turn over the puck behind the Rangers net and know the goal was coming. Unfortunately I was right.

Three and a half minutes later, Viktor Stalberg came down the boards and rifled one that left a juicy rebound in front of Schneider. Kevin Hayes pounced and we had a tie game.

Just 45 seconds later, Keith Yandle sent a shot towards the net that was deflected by Dominic Moore into the net to give the visitors the lead. I was sitting behind that goal at the Rock and immediately thought the goal wasn’t going to count because he kicked it in. After watching the replay, I still think it went off his skate but they apparently ruled it a good goal without any actual review and the Rangers had the lead. The secondary assist on the play went to Marek Hrivik, giving him his first NHL point.

That would be all for the first period. Then came the second period. Oh the second period. One day, the Rangers will play second periods on a regular basis. I’m still holding out hope it will happen. It didn’t tonight. After the game, Vigneault said it might have been their worst second period of the year. I guess that’s possible since I don’t remember writing about too many “typical Rangers second periods” this season. But no matter the personnel, this is one thing that doesn’t change.

The Devils controlled the first half of the period. (Well they controlled the entire period but I’m going to skip over the first half because nothing of note happened.) A little before the halfway mark, the Devils got the first power play of the game. It took less than a minute for the Devils to tie the game.

Somehow the Rangers got to within two minutes of the period ending before the Devils took the lead. I’m really not sure how it took that long other than Henrik Lundqvist was incredible (and the Devils can’t score). But when Chris Kreider couldn’t figure out what to do with the puck while in the defensive zone and ended up handing it over, I knew the goal was coming.

Then with time winding down, things got weird. For some reason that I’m still not sure of J.T. Miller and Sergey Kalinin decided to drop the gloves at center ice with one second remaining. The two had their fight and then headed to their locker rooms. Easy, each get five for fighting and we move on to intermission. But the referees were discussing something. When I realized it would be an extra penalty on the Rangers I thought it was Miller was being thrown for not having his jersey tied down. (It came off in the fight so I assumed that’s what happened.) I was wrong. It was Rule 46.15.

So what is Rule 46.15?

46.15 Match Penalty – Any player wearing tape or any other material on his hands (below the wrist) who cuts or injures an opponent during an altercation will receive a match penalty in addition to any other penalties imposed including for fighting under this rule.

I had noticed recently that Miller had his wrist taped. I didn’t know when it started or why but the wrist has been clearly taped for at least a few games now. (I honestly don’t remember when I first saw it.) Apparently it was taped too high and because Kalinin got cut, Miller was assessed a match penalty and his night was over.

I was pissed when I saw Miller fighting in the first place because the team needs him on the ice. Honestly, I wanted Kreider benched so figured Miller would get the extra shifts. But my level of anger was doubled once he got the game misconduct.

Here’s my issue – fine, I don’t know the rule. I’m sure almost everyone watching didn’t know the rule either. The beat writers sure didn’t seem to. But how do the Rangers not know the rule? How do they not know Miller’s hand is wrapped too high and therefore he can’t fight? If the fight happened due to a hit, then fine. Spur of the moment, he didn’t think about it. That’s not what happened. There was time to think. I don’t get it.

The worst part was the match penalty meant a five minute major, which meant the Rangers started the third period on the penalty kill. To say I wasn’t confident was an understand. But if the Rangers want to take one positive out of the game (not that they should), it was the first five minutes of the third period. The Rangers put on a clinic, allowing the Devils only one shot while they had numerous opportunities the other way. No one scored and I thought maybe the visitors had a chance.

Enter Derick Brassard, who decided to take another penalty just 41 seconds after the major had ended. Somehow the Rangers killed that as well but now time was running down as they were approaching the halfway mark.

As is usually the case, the Rangers did wake up as the clock really started to wind down but it was too little too late. A dumb play with less than three minutes to go made it 4-2 and the outcome was basically decided. For some random reason, Vigneault decided to pull Lundqvist after that. All that meant was the final score was 5-2 instead of 4-2 so I’m not really sure why he bothered.

The good news in all of this is that the Rangers are done with the Devils for the season, unless they meet in the playoffs. Let’s just hope that doesn’t happen as the Rangers have chosen to show up to one out of the four matchups between the teams this year. And they almost lost that game too.

 

(Photo: Melissa Andus)

Leave a comment